Posted by: PharaohKatt | 09-06-2012

Aussie Spec-Fic Snapshot 2012

The Australian Spec-Fic Snapshot has just happened for the fourth time, and I was interviewed!

To check out the full awesomeness of the snapshot (and you should) check out the links round-up (helpfully alphabetised) here.

My interview is here. I’ll give you a snippet now, and please make me happy by checking out the full interview 🙂

1. Having just come out the other side of Doomcon (Swancon 2012), was the con everything you hoped it would be? What were your highlights? 

The con was everything I had hoped, and much better than I expected. I had a fantastic crew working with me to make sure everything got off the ground. I set out to make it as woman-friendly as possible, which was not an easy task. As progressive as the SF community likes to think, it can still be just as sexist as the rest of the world. I benefited a lot from having people in the committee who shared my vision, so when I said I wanted to promote female work and female achievement no one questioned it. More than just supportive, the committee was actively trying to think of ways to make this happen.

There were a few moments that made me quite proud. Most of these moments weren’t inside the con itself, but part of the organisation of it. When the programme books came back from the printers complete with an Anti-Harassment Policy I was over the moon. Every time I had a woman tell me they were excited to be on a panel item I felt glee.

At the end of the day, the thing that mattered the most to me was seeing the end project come together. You get to a point where everything is going to happen regardless of what you do, so you can sit back and ride it out. That was probably the most thrilling experience of the con.

Thanks folks! Hopefully I’ll start properly blogging again soon.

Categories

