Posted by: PharaohKatt | 22-12-2011

Summer Holidays Pt 2: Celebrating Litha

Yesterday I posted about one of the traditions my family has surrounding Christmas; today I’m going to talk about my own summer holiday, Litha.

Litha is the celebration of the Summer Solstice, which this year fell on the 22nd of December. It is a celebration of the power of the sun, a time when the Godess gives birth, and takes on a new role as the Mother. It is also a reminder of the coming autumn, as the days from this point will only get shorter as winter takes hold.

For me it is a celebration of Brighid, the tripple Goddess I honour as Mother. It is also a time of celebration, or brightness and dancing and joy. It is a time of generosity, a time to clean and renew. It is a time of birth and rebirth.

I am a solitary Pagan, so I celebrate Litha on my own. This isn’t ideal, but it’s what I have to work with. This year I spent the day babysitting for some friends of mine. We made things and played in the sun – not specifically for Litha, just a happy coincidence. Then after dinner, I went outside for my own, private ritual.

Traditionally Litha calls for a bonfire, but fire restrictions in the Australian summer prohibit this. Instead I lit three candles, to represent the tripple nature of the Goddess. I had a relatively short ritual, where I gave my praises to the sun and moon and earth. It’s also traditional to give an offering to the Gods at this pont, but since I was completely eaten by mozzies I figure that’s enough of an offering ;)

It’s really tricky when you’re on your own. I have to piece together what I can from books and the internet. All I can do is my best, and hope that the Gods accept that.

Responses

  1. [...] wrote about celebrating Litha on her own, since she is the sole pagan in her family. Since she is in Australia, it was actually [...]


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

